Advice on managing a server?
Hello,

I am currently thinking about purchasing a dedicated server. I am a web developer but would also like to host other services such as email, file server, TS3, IRC and maybe a game server.

However, is it best for me to run virtual instances of Linux to host each separate service or keep everything on the same OS? I was thinking of using Ubuntu, CentOS or Debian.
I would say CentOS is well suited for web servers. Also, whether you run one server or multiple virtual ones would really depend on the amount of resources you have to spare. Running multiple VMs will be pretty resource intensive.
(01-11-2017, 05:16 PM)Vector Wrote: I would say CentOS is well suited for web servers. Also, whether you run one server or multiple virtual ones would really depend on the amount of resources you have to spare. Running multiple VMs will be pretty resource intensive.

I'm more interested in which is the best practice, is it better to separate different services on VMs or just run everything on one OS, is it bad practice to run multiple services on the same server you would run a web server? Yes it probably would be better to have multiple servers doing all of this, but I am only able to use one at the moment.
(01-11-2017, 04:37 PM)EhcoStar Wrote: Hello,

I am currently thinking about purchasing a dedicated server. I am a web developer but would also like to host other services such as email, file server, TS3, IRC and maybe a game server.

However, is it best for me to run virtual instances of Linux to host each separate service or keep everything on the same OS? I was thinking of using Ubuntu, CentOS or Debian.

Could we get a spec dump of the server?

As for splitting stuff up.